96X Winter Meltdown

Event Times




Bands to perform: Fun., Of Monsters and Men, Silversun Pickups, Imagine Dragons, The Last Bison, Atlas Genius, and DJ Jey One



FUN.: Fun. is an American indie pop band based in New York City that was formed by Nate Ruess, formerly of The Format. After the 2008 breakup of The Format, Ruess formed Fun with Andrew Dost and Jack Antonoff of Anathallo and Steel Train respectively. Fun has released two albums: their debut Aim and Ignite in 2009 and their latest Some Nights in February 2012.

The band is best known for their hit singles "We Are Young" featuring Janelle Monáe, and "Some Nights". "We Are Young" reached number one on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 and Digital Songs charts, becoming the first alternative rock song to top the Billboard Hot 100 chart since Coldplay's "Viva la Vida" in 2008. It peaked at number one on the UK Singles Chart, as well. "Some Nights" was released as the album's second single in May 2012, peaking at number 3 on the Hot 100 chart so far, and becoming their second Top 10 single, as well as their second song to reach platinum status in the USA.


OF MONSTERS AND MEN: Of Monsters and Men is a six-piece indie folk/indie pop band from Iceland, formed in 2010. The members are co-singer/guitarist Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir, co-singer/guitarist Ragnar "Raggi" Þórhallsson, guitarist Brynjar Leifsson, drummer Arnar Rósenkranz Hilmarsson, piano/accordion player Árni Guðjónsson, and bassist Kristján Páll Kristjánsson. During their 2012 tour, the band added trumpet player Ragnhildur Gunnarsdóttir.

The band won the Músíktilraunir in 2010, an annual battle of the bands competition in Iceland. In 2011, Of Monsters and Men released an EP entitled Into the Woods. The band's debut album My Head Is an Animal (2011), peaked at No. 6 on the US Billboard 200 album chart and also reached European charts. Its lead single "Little Talks" was a commercial success, reaching the Top 20 in over five countries and No. 1 on US Alternative Songs.

Their musical style has been frequently compared to indie groups like Arcade Fire, Mumford & Sons, and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros.


SILVERSUN PICKUPS: Silversun Pickups is an alternative rock band from Los Angeles that was formed in 2002. The band comprises Brian Aubert, Nikki Monninger, Christopher Guanlao and Joe Lester.

The band released their debut EP, Pikul, in July 2005, and their debut full-length album, Carnavas, on July 26, 2006. Their second full-length album, Swoon, was released on April 14, 2009. Neck of the Woods, the band's third album, was released on May 8, 2012.


IMAGINE DRAGONS: Imagine Dragons is a four-piece rock band based in Las Vegas, Nevada, that formed in 2008. The group's name is an anagram of one they originally considered, but discarded. As of September 2012, the band has not revealed the original name.

After winning several battle of the band competitions, the band entered the studio for the first time in 2009. They released two EPs titled Imagine Dragons EP and Hell and Silence EP in 2010, both recorded at Battle Born Studios and another EP, It's Time was made before they signed a record deal.


THE LAST BISON: The Last Bison is an indie folk band that formed in Chesapeake, Virginia. The Last Bison's mountain-top chamber music combines elements of alternative indie-folk with classical sensibilities. Their first album Quill was released independently in September, 2011 and has received critical praise noting the bands complex arrangements, refined lyrics and vocal harmonies.

The band received airplay on WROX-FM in Norfolk, Virginia. According to James Steele, the station's program director, "Switzerland", the first single from their Debut album has prompted the biggest audience response of any tune in his five years at the station.

Ben Hardesty's (vocals and guitar) songwriting bears sonic resemblance to groups such as Fleet Foxes, Mumford and Sons and The Decemberists. Folkhive stated "Dare I say that [The Last] Bison is to folk what Arcade Fire is to indie rock? Boasting 7 members and a sound seemingly born on the tree covered mountain tops of Virginia [The Last] Bison lays down expansive and yet imminently listenable folk with an original feel I’ve not experienced in quite some time". The band incorporates traditional folk instruments with a reed organ, percussion and classical strings. Independent Clauses stated "[The Last] Bison’s debut album Quill uses the seriousness of Fleet Foxes’ grounded sound as a framework, layering strings, bells and more on top. “Iscariot” and “The Woodcutter’s Son” have a darkly pastoral bent that recalls pre-The King is Dead Decemberists."[The Last] Bison has headlined the Norva Theatre in Norfolk as well as performed with the Virginia Symphony Orchestra. The Daily Press said of Bison's live performance, "The stars of [the] show did not disappoint. Bison skillfully performed complex arrangements and delivered songs with passion and sensitivity. [The Last] Bison is a unique musical outfit that creates an unusual energy on stage."


ATLAS GENIUS: Atlas Genius is an indie rock band from Adelaide, South Australia. The band consists of vocalist and guitarist Keith Jeffrey, his brothers Steven on bass and Michael on drums and English keyboardist Darren Sell. Their first single, "Trojans", debuted on 4 May 2011 and the video premiered on MTV2's show 120 Minutes on 13 January 2012. The single has been in rotation on Sirius XM's Alt Nation channel. "Trojans" received favorable reviews from the music review website Clixie Music, calling the song "a big-hitter". Other reviewers called the song "slick" and "a solid summer jam". It has charted on Billboard's Alternative Songs chart, peaking so far at No. 17. Keith Jeffrey describes their music as influenced by bands like Death Cab for Cutie, The Police, and Beck.

The group was signed to Warner Bros. Records and released their debut EP, titled Through the Glass on 12 June 2012. To support their EP, they embarked on a U.S. tour during August and September 2012. Their track 'If So' has been chosen to feature on FIFA 13.

  • Nov 28 , 2012
  • View Seating Chart
  • Tickets are on sale now and are available at COXTix.com, by calling 888-3-COXTIX, and at the Constant Center Box Office.

    Tickets for this show are General Admission

    ODU Student Pricing: $27. To take advantage of student pricing, please purchase at the Constant Center Box office. Limit of 2 tickets per ODU ID.

    Ticket prices increase the day of the show.

  • Advance Ticket Price: $37, Day of Show: $47

Who's Going

See all
Be the first to say you're going to this event!
You are going